Natural Skyscrapers (Part 1) – Mangart


Imagine the huge amazing skyscrapers in Dubai, New York or Tokyo. Those amazing buildings, which can be seen as a benchmark for the development of a city will rarely be found in a small countryside town. Moving from my hometown, which had at least some tall buildings to such a small countryside town made me miss the feeling to live in an urban developed area. Anyhow I soon started to realise that my new surrounding had to offer something completly different: The Alps. Most of the mountains in the Alps are twice as high, or higher than the actual highest building in the world. From that point of view I’m living in a “natural Manhattan”.

Perfect weather for a hiking trip on the Mangart in the Julian Alps

Perfect weather for a hiking trip on the Mangart in the Julian Alps

On a beautiful day in the fall two friends of mine who are passionate hikers took me on a trip to Mangart. The area around the mountain is one of my favourite places and I travelled there quite often in the past years. Mangart itself offers an amazing view. When the weather is clear one can see the top of the Grossglockner, which is the highest mountain in Austria. Looking to the south you can see up to the Adriatic Sea in Italy if you’re lucky.

Surrounded by lots of beautiful mountains arround it's a hikers paradise

View from the Top of Mangart towards south

Till the top it’s a 2-3 hour hiking tour from the parking, which is accessable by car. The road up there offers wonderful panoramic views and is popular among motorcyclists. So if you’re not into getting exhausted I recommend to drive at least that road. But just don’t be lazy! The view from the top is amazing. I carried a heavy backpack up there with snacks and a hipflask full of pear brandy because it’s our tradition to celebrate reaching the top with a shot of schnapps. And let me tell you something – nothing tastes better than a snack and a shot after you reach the top and you know that you’ve beaten your “inner couch potato”.

At the top of Mangart: Hikers taking a rest next to the cross

At the top of Mangart mountain: Hikers taking a rest next to the cross

I found something that I’d call a “cozy” rock to sit on and started eating my sandwich when a little black birds showed up begging for some bread crumbs. There were a few of them waiting for hikers to feed them. Those birds are called alpine chough and are very common in the mountains.

Alpine chough waiting for something to eat

Alpine chough waiting for something to eat

After the little fellow got what he wanted I finally started chewing my sandwich and enjoyed the peace. Anyone who went in the mountains will know what I mean. Sitting up there after all the struggle, you feel the fresh breeze and you are overwhelmed by the view. You come down and stare into distance and all of a sudden you feel freedom.

View into distance with alpine chough struggling against the wind

View into distance with alpine chough struggling against the wind


Author/Pictures: GP

Leave a comment